Skip to content

Jalapeno Popper Dip…

July 14, 2010

The Soccer World Cup has left South Africa. Its sinking in. Not that I was a huge soccer fan to begin with, but how can you not get caught up in the gees? The vibe? It was incredible.

I will miss going to the Dros to watch the game and chow garlic and feta pizzas. I will miss watching the last few minutes of the match through drooping eyelids as I struggle to stay awake for extra time. Most of all I will miss how it brought us together. How often will you get the excuse to invite everyone around at least once a week to congregate in your living room and eat mountains of food and scream like idiots?

Due to the mountains of food required I chose to use the opportunity to test my snack making. I made pastries and chicken strips and dips for Africa. But there was one dip that stood head and shoulders above the rest. And I have to talk about it. Jalapeno Popper Dip.

Just as the name says, its like eating a jalapeno popper, only different. Cause its a dip.

I saw the recipe on two of the blogs I read regularly, My Baking Addiction and Buns In My Oven. I love jalapeno poppers, well I did before I wasn’t allowed to eat spicy food anymore, *weeping silently* and I couldn’t resist it. I know you won’t be able to either, if you give it a try. I even ate some, ok quite a bit. In my defense it wasn’t that spicy.

Jalapeno Popper Dip:

  • 225g cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, finely grated
  • 4-6 medium jalapeno peppers
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese, finely grated
  • 1/4 cup bread crumbs

Preheat the oven to 190°C/375°F.

De-seed and finely dice the peppers.

Those aren’t my hands. I was being a baby and asked R to do it for me. What? He was a chef I had to put his skills to good use.

Next, combine all ingredients except for the last two in a medium bowl.

Mix them together and spoon the mixture out into an oven proof serving dish/dishes.

Mix the remaining ingredients together in a small bowl and sprinkle over the top of the dip in a thick layer.

Bake for 10-15 min until the tops are crisp and golden brown.

Happy heartburn to me. Oh well, it was so worth it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 7:32 pm

    I can’t get over how good this sounds. My family is all surprised that recently I have been starting to like spicy foods. They still expect me to choose mild (and would prefer it if I would get much milder salsas and such). But I have been loving the spicy stuff lately. And this looks terrific.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      July 14, 2010 9:32 pm

      Hi Margo! I loved spicy stuff to, its so sad that my stomach wont cooperate with me. *sigh*

  2. Liz permalink
    July 14, 2010 8:14 pm

    Ah i have to agree… This dip (and all the other yummy food you made) was fantastic! Mmmm I’ll miss the fun times too, but I’m sure we’ll find another reason to go to the Dros and gorge ourselves on garlic and feta pizzas. ;) Oh and thx for all the effort you went to that night Robs. It was fantastic!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      July 14, 2010 9:34 pm

      There’s no such thing as too much effort for you guys, I was pretty exhausted after though, so don’t start thinking you’ll get that every time hey? :) miss u

  3. July 21, 2010 9:07 am

    This looks incredible!! My hubby will be a huge fan! Dot♥

    • chocswirl permalink*
      July 21, 2010 8:13 pm

      Hey Dot, my man was too! What is it with guys and spicy things?

  4. July 22, 2010 3:41 pm

    Hi, this sounds great, where can I find 4-6 medium jalapeno peppers? I’ve been looking everywhere.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      July 22, 2010 11:16 pm

      Hey, you can either use pickled jalapenos, which you can usually find as speciality items in your supermarket, or fresh ones if you can find them. I couldn’t find jalapenos but I found mixed chillis at the food lovers market, which gave exactly the same taste as if I’d used jalapenos. If you do that just watch out for the heat though, as its not always consistant!

  5. July 23, 2010 4:30 pm

    Thanks! Will do.

  6. Fraunty Aunces permalink
    August 1, 2010 5:45 pm

    Jalepeno on a Stick………. Well done Robs. Sounds yummy. R…. Like your warm top!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 92 other followers

