Skip to content

The End?

April 27, 2012

Where do you start a post like this one…

This is hard in some ways and easy in others. Hard because I’ve put so much of myself into this space, yet easy because I have not put enough. There are so many things about me that I haven’t shared with all of you. My faith in Jesus and my family & everyday life being just two of them. I guess that’s ok, I mean this is a food blog after all. However, as time goes by those other parts become a bigger and bigger part of me and I’ve come to the realisation that I’ve been living too much on the internet and not enough in life.

My passion for food has become stifled by blog posts and photographs. Although I do still love these things, my food journey has focussed on them instead of on the reason that I first loved food. To revel in the process of creating food that will make those I love happy.

Having come to this realisation, I’ve decided to take a step back. I’m not sure what the outcome will be, but it seems a necessary step on the bigger road of my life. Giving my passion for food time to develop on it’s own terms and allowing my identity to be shaped by the other things in my life.

The end?

Perhaps not… we’ll have to wait and see.

xxx

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2012 7:36 pm

    I for one will be sad to see you leave blogland but fully understand your reasons. I am only just starting out with my blog and I agree it does take over your life a bit. Enjoy your new journey in life.
    Angela

    • April 28, 2012 10:50 am

      Thanks Angela! :) Good luck with your new journey too! I’ll be following :)

  2. vanessa huber permalink
    April 30, 2012 4:05 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart. and I want to say I applaud you in your decision…although I will miss your artistic photography and yummy desserts! Just the mention of your faith in Jesus, I get the bigger picture. I have come to that same conclusion myself recently. I pray for God’s direction and open doors:) your life will continue to be enriched! Blessings, Vanessa

    • May 3, 2012 1:09 pm

      Ahh Vanessa, your comment really touched my heart! Thanks so much for the encouragement :)

  3. ninatimm permalink
    May 1, 2012 6:57 pm

    A sad day for blogland, but I completely understand, it is an all consuming passion and unless that is your career path, it can be crippling. I applaud your honesty and sense of direction, cna only come from One place. God bless you!

    • May 3, 2012 1:11 pm

      Thanks Nina! It was a really hard decision to make but I’m sure it’s the right one for now, you’re right about where my direction comes from so I know I’ll end up in the right place whatever the outcome :)

  4. May 7, 2012 11:31 am

    may sunshine follow you always!

  5. May 19, 2012 4:06 am

    Whilst I will be sad to see you go, I understand the need to take a step back. I’ve done a similar thing. New job got in the way and I just needed to cook and create for the sake of it rather than to blog about it.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

