Skip to content

Blackberry Cherry Frozen Yoghurt Popsicles and some much needed motivation…

December 31, 2009

I must say that I’ve been quite lacking in motivation lately. Why? I don’t know, but its been annoying me immensely! Maybe its that I’ve been so busy that I haven’t stopped to look around at all the best things in my life! Like blogging (a new but burning passion I’ve found), my family (and all the tiny crazy moments), my job (yes G I really did land with my bum in the butter on this one) and just the small things that make life amazing if you let them.

Earlier today I read a blog post that just set me straight… I need to not keep yearning for the future, and to be ‘future me’, but to enjoy the present and just being ‘present me’. Thanks Joy, you don’t know me but your blog is an inspiration! (Joy the Baker)

Usually I don’t do new years resolutions, but I think this is gonna be it for me, oh, and to blog more! I’m always in the kitchen and never in front of the computer!

So I think i’ll start now! Here’s my latest kitchen adventure…

Blackberry Cherry Frozen Yoghurt Popsicles…

Frozen Yoghurt base:

  • 1 l plain yoghurt
  • 1/4 cup castor sugar

Blackberry Cherry Coulis:

  • 200g Blackberries
  • 200g Cherries
  • 1/4 cup castor sugar
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice

Combine the yoghurt and the castor sugar in a large mixing bowl, stirring well. Set aside in the fridge to chill.

To make the coulis, combine the blackberries, cherries, castor sugar and lemon juice in a small saucepan and bring to the boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar.

Once at a boil, allow to cook for 2 min or until fruit is soft enough to squash against the side when lightly pressed with the spoon.

Remove from heat and blend with a hand-blender till smooth. Set aside in the fridge to chill.

Once both parts are chilled, stir 1/2 of the coulis into the yoghurt base. (You can chop up any left over fruit and mix it in if you’d like some chunky bits)

Divide the remaining coulis between the moulds (you can use proper lolly moulds or glasses/cups if you don’t have them) and set in the freezer to chill.

Divide the yoghurt base between the moulds, leaving a bit of space at the top for the mixture to expand into. (you can churn it in an ice cream machine first for a creamier result but its not necessary) and place in the freezer to set.

After 1 hr, insert the sticks down into the middle. (should take at least 4 hrs to set completely)

Now for the first bite…

Hmmm…yummy…

Happy New Years!!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    January 3, 2010 2:34 pm

    These look amazing!! Def going to try make them myself. Pat yourself on the shoulder for a job well done! :)

  2. chocswirl permalink*
    January 4, 2010 9:27 am

    he he… u kno u the only one who reads my blog right? But I love your comments! :) If u wanna borrow the moulds just ask!

    • Liz permalink
      January 4, 2010 10:13 pm

      I’m sure that’s not true…but even if it is, i’m happy to see and read what you get up to. I love your blog and i’m not afraid to say it! :D

Leave a Reply

