Skip to content

Mocha Chiffon Cake with Espresso Ganache Drizzle…

January 13, 2010

I’ve got a friend… his name is T… he’s my brother. Well, not technically, not in blood, but in bond. We’ve known each other since we were 2 yrs old, and he turned 23 recently! I told him I’d bake him a cake, coz…well… I’ll take any excuse to bake, you know me. He said he didn’t have any preference as to what flavour or type (Score!) so I decided on a chiffon cake.

G’s mom gave me a chiffon cake tin for christmas which I’d been dying to try out, so there wasn’t really any question about it. Chocolate is always good, but I wanted to try something different so I thought mocha would be a good variation from the norm. (and yes, chocolate is the norm around here!)

But first… Let me introduce you to my younger sister, N…

Don’t you love that pic!?

She’s really into photography, and whenever I’m taking photos of my food and its just not working, I always take the liberty of interrupting her goings on to bug her into helping me out (not that she minds, as she gets to lick the spoon!) The pic at the top was taken by her as I was mixing the batter. It’s amazing how such a normal everyday task such as mixing batter can produce such an awesome pattern! Anyway… back from the tangent… Mocha Chiffon Cake…

Here’s the recipe… coz I know you want it… (who doesn’t want a mocha chiffon cake with espresso ganache drizzle? Oh, you don’t? Psst! It’s got condensed milk in it! What? Yeah that’s what I thought!)

Mocha Chiffon Cake with Espresso Ganache Drizzle…

Mocha Chiffon Cake: (Adapted from WomansDay.com)

  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 3 Tbsp instant coffee powder
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 7 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 cups castor sugar
  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Espresso Drizzle: (Adapted from Epicurean.com)

  • 12 oz (340g) white chocolate
  • 3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 6 Tbsp freshly brewed espresso/double strength coffee

Preheat oven to 160° C. (You will need a chiffon cake pan for this cake)

Whisk together the water and espresso/coffee powder til dissolved, then whisk in cocoa powder til smooth. Add the 5 egg yolks, oil, vanilla, baking powder and salt and whisk til smooth. Add 1 3/4 cups of the sugar and whisk til smooth, then add the flour (sifted) and whisk for 1 min, til smooth.

In a large stand mixer, beat the 7 egg whites til frothy, add the cream of tartar and beat on med speed to soft peaks. Gradually beat in the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar and then beat on high til peaks are soft, yet billowy. Stir a bit of the egg whites into the cocoa mixture to loosen the batter, then fold in the rest, and pour the batter into the pan.

Bake for about 1 hour and 15 min or until a skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.

Turn pan upside down onto a wire cooling rack (onto the pan’s 3 feet) and cool completely. (there needs to be alot of air circulation around the pan, so if it does not have feet, then invert it onto the narrow neck of a large funnel set on the wire rack) Using a long, thin knife, loosen the edges of the cake and unmold onto the cooling rack.

For the espresso drizzle, melt the white chocolate, whisk in the condensed milk and espresso and continue whisking til smooth. (the original recipe says to use while still warm, but when I did that it soaked into the cake. Was nice, but I wanted something to show on top, so I mixed 1/2 of the drizzle with some ganache I had left over from previous baking and poured that over the top, yum!)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2010 6:40 pm

    thats awsome!

    I featured… that cake was awsome and delicious, so you cant blame me for licking that spoon. lol

    thanks sis,

  2. Liz permalink
    January 18, 2010 3:17 pm

    see Robs, it’s not just me reading your blog! Hehe.. The cake looks amazing.. but i’ve told you that! Then again, i’m biased, i love anything and everything you make!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      January 27, 2010 9:37 am

      Aww! thanx Liz!:) U love them even more coz u get to eat them to!

  3. April 27, 2010 3:26 am

    Hahaha just made my co-workers drooooooooooll by showing off my birthday cake :)

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 27, 2010 3:28 pm

      Thanx T!:) Hope they were jealous… Missing u!

Leave a Reply

