Skip to content

Daring Bakers: Graham Crackers and Nanaimo Bars…

January 27, 2010

Yes I know! I was supposed to make gluten free Graham Crackers! This month I’m finding it really hard to get my ‘mojo’ back… Everythings busy and I’m not getting to things I love doing! So its depressing me a little… ok, a lot! So in the busyness I was just not in the place to go searching for gluten free flours, which are not as readily available here in Cape Town. (or let me say not easily available, like I will go down to the supermarket and find it sitting on the shelf in front of me coz that’s about all i can handle right now)

So all I did was to substitute all of the gluten free flours in the recipe with normal flour. I won’t be posting the recipe, (as I don’t have much time right now!:( ) but you can find the link below. (Celiac Teen) I personally found the nanaimo bars a little sweet, but I took the batch to bible study and they were raved over! (not literally:) )

The January 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Lauren of Celiac Teen. Lauren chose Gluten-Free Graham Wafers and Nanaimo Bars as the challenge for the month. The sources she based her recipe on are 101 Cookbooks and www.nanaimo.ca.

Here are some of my pics… Just have to say the graham crackers were so awesome! I’ve never tasted them before and now I can’t go back…

The dough before chilling and rolling out…

Rolled and cut… ready for the oven…

Mmmmm… I can almost smell them! So Yummy!

The graham crackers were definately my favorite part of this challenge! Can’t wait for next month’s… Well done everyone! They look awesome! And thank you Lauren for a great challenge! A friend of mine commented that he’d never tasted anything like it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 12:50 pm

    Hi there, the very first South African Food Bloggers Conference will be taking place in Cape Town on Sunday 21 March. Would you be interested in attending? All the information is available on my blog or on the conference website http://sa-food-blogging-conference.blogspot.com/
    Hope to hear from you
    Colleen
    PS Nice looking blog. I have been wanting to make Graham crackers for the longest time but havent got there yet. Will pop back once the conference is over and I have the time to browse. xx

  2. July 18, 2011 12:23 am

    You have such a wonderful blog! Your pictures are lovely and I love your “daring baker” recipes! I’m a big fan of graham crackers, but have never thought of making my own…may have to try that!

Leave a Reply

