Skip to content

Pretty in Pink…

March 7, 2010

I got a call from my friend C the other day… Her youngest daughter, T, was turning 2 and as little girls do as it gets close to their birthday she had decided on to what she wanted for her cake. (its the most important thing when you’re a 2 yr old little girl… or a 22 yr old pastry chef :) ) Well needless to say, she wanted a butterfly! She called me up for help, and of course I jumped on the idea! I want to say yes to every opportunity that comes my way because that’s the best way to gain experience! Just jump into the deep end…

I got the idea for the wings from Marian at Sweetopia. She made beautiful  little butterfly cookies with piped and flooded royal icing on top in the most beautiful patterns. So I thought… why not do that on a cake? I felt like it was a bit of a long shot as I’d never done something like that before! So It was a week of stress for me as I made the wings, cut out the cake, prayed that the wings didn’t crack (which they did! Notice the name plaque? he he) Luckily all the things that went wrong were minor, and I could still give C a beautiful cake for her daughter!

I’ve also been playing around with my photography and editing, It frustrates me when things don’t look as great as they could! I’ve still got a way to go…

Any ideas or tips for me? I’d love to hear how everyone gets their photos looking so great!

xxx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tarryn permalink
    March 22, 2010 7:13 pm

    Hey Robz! The cake came out beautifully I see ;) Nice work girlfriend ;)

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 23, 2010 8:36 am

      Taz, thanks for your comment! :) Was fun to make!

  2. March 28, 2010 5:06 pm

    lovely cake! will keep your skills in mind ;)

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 10, 2010 7:58 pm

      Thanks Liz! I would be more than happy to lend my skills your way:)

  3. April 7, 2010 1:46 pm

    l dldnt know you have a blog you cheeky! lts very cool and l look forward to checking up on what you are baking! yum… xxx dldnt

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 10, 2010 7:58 pm

      Yay! you found me! :) Having so much fun blogging. Did you see Tate’s cake?

Leave a Reply

