Skip to content

Honey & Roasted Almond Ice-cream & Dark Chocolate Espresso Sorbet…

March 25, 2010

Cape Town is so hot at the moment that some days I just wish I could spend the entire day in the pool. But then my dreams are shattered when I actually dip my toe in and realise that the pool is almost as hot as the temperature outside! Which has reached up to 48°C this summer. Yes, having a heated pool isn’t always all it’s cracked up to be.

My day off this week was one of those days. As much as I love spending the entire day in the kitchen, there was no way that I was going anywhere near the oven in that heat. So I ‘settled’ for what I’ve been craving the entire summer up until now… Ice-cream. (I say ‘settled’ because it was more like I was ecstatic to have the perfect opportunity to make it, as it is my FAVORITE thing in the world!)

I received a new ice-cream book for Christmas last year. As I was paging through I saw these two mouth-watering recipes, and that was that.

What I love about the Honey and Roasted Almond Ice-cream is that it is the easiest ice-cream recipe I have ever come across. But the fact that it is easy does in no way affect the taste! It is rich and creamy with just the right amount of sweetness, and the nutty flavour of the roasted almonds rounds off the taste in an amazing way.

The Dark Chocolate Espresso Sorbet is another thing altogether. It is dark and bitter and chocolaty and so rich that there’s no way you could have more than one scoop at a time. But therein lies the magic, why would anyone want to skimp on intensity and flavour? Quality is far better than quantity.

Honey & Roasted Almond Ice-cream… (adapted from Ice cream and Frozen Desserts by Peggy Fallon)

(makes about 1 1/4 litres, or 2 1/2 pints)

  • 900ml (1 3/4 pints) single cream
  • 240ml (8fl oz) honey
  • 85g (3 oz) roasted almonds (roast them on a baking tray in the oven on grill setting until brown)

Whisk the honey into the cream in a large mixing bowl. Chill the mixture in the refrigerator for about 1 hour. When it is cold, churn it in an ice-cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions, adding the almonds when the mixture is thick and nearly done. Churn for a minute or so longer and then transfer to a  container. Cover it and freeze until it’s at the right consistency to scoop it out, min 4 hours but preferably overnight.

If you do not have an ice-cream maker don’t despair! It was too hot to use mine, so I just froze it and took it out every 45 minutes or so to whisk/beat it, until it was at the right consistency. It takes about 3-4 whisks, depending on how long you leave it in between.

Dark Chocolate Espresso Sorbet… (from the same book)

(makes about 1 litre, or 2 pints)

Freeze in the same way as the Honey & Roasted Almond Ice-cream above.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 4:23 pm

    The dark chocolate espresso sorbet looks divine, win hands down in my book!!! Glad I found your site!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 27, 2010 7:53 am

      Nina, I learned so much from you at the SAFBC! I’m an aspiring food photographer so your talks were awesome for me.
      Your site is great, I love the photos, so fresh and colourful! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Liz permalink
    March 26, 2010 9:03 pm

    the honey almond ice cream was amazing! just thinking about it again makes my mouth water. Yummmm. Can’t speak for the chocolate one tho, but it looks and sounds awesome. Yet another job well-done my foodie friend <3

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 27, 2010 7:54 am

      Well i’ll just have to make you a whole container full so you can speak for it! Miss u my friend!:)

      • Liz permalink
        March 31, 2010 4:00 pm

        well if you insist…i will eat!!! :D oh and you should load the hot cross buns pics. They were fab! :)

  3. March 27, 2010 10:24 am

    Stunning recipe and a beautiful blog! I love your clear and simple instructions. Thank you very much: I’ll be visiting often from now on.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 28, 2010 8:34 am

      thanks Juno! Was great to hear from you at the conference. Your blog is beautiful to, I love your pictures!

  4. Kate Griffiths permalink
    January 2, 2012 1:08 pm

    Wanted so much to make the dark chocolate sorbet but couldn’t find the ingredient list or quantities! I looked up Peggy Fallon’s book on Amazon.com – is this the right list?
    1 ½ cups sugar
    ¾ cup Dutch process unsweetened cocoa powder
    1/8 teaspoon salt
    2 cups water
    1 cup brewed espresso or strong coffee
    1 Tbsp light corn syrup
    ½ tsp vanilla extract

Leave a Reply

