Skip to content

Scones to wish me luck…

April 15, 2010
tags:

Tomorrow is the first of my two patisserie exam practicals. *Breathe in, breathe out* I’m actually really looking forward to it! Nervous excitement is the emotion of the day. I have 4 hours to make vanilla cupcakes with italian meringue icing, cheese & herb muffins, scones, and chocolate eclairs with pastry cream and chocolate ganache. Not so bad actually, especially since I get to take it all home with me :) I’m the lucky one since I’m the only pastry chef in our class, the others are studying it but working as chef’s in hot kitchens. The only thing on the list that I hadn’t made yet was scones. Since I’ve never liked them. (until today that is, this seems to keep happening to me:) And so when I got off early from work today I took the opportunity to whip up a batch. And they were truly amazing. The smell, the colour, the steam as I broke one open straight from the oven, and then of course the texture as it just seemed to melt in my mouth. Hmmm…

Ok I’m back. I can’t post the recipe this time, but there will definately be a next time for scones and I… definately! Here are some of the photos as I was going along. My new camera is my baby, it is amazing, I love it and I all but sleep next to it. So from me and Sony Alpha 330…

Wish me luck! :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 12:48 am

    Good luck!!! These look great, I’m sure you’ll be fine. Like you said, Breathe in, breathe out.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 16, 2010 6:26 pm

      Thanks for the wishes liz and adele, It went great and now I’m totally exhausted! And stuffed full :)

  2. Ryan permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:00 am

    Scone love

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 16, 2010 6:26 pm

      I second that ryan

  3. Liz permalink
    April 16, 2010 4:38 pm

    Ryan you’re just sucking up so that you can be on the receiving end of all the delicious yumminess robs whips up in the kitchen! ;)
    Good luck Robs, i’m sure you’ll ace it!

  4. lyn permalink
    April 16, 2010 10:33 pm

    You so funny but lovely photos none the less and great tasting scones! Don”t be so scarce! Love you. Glad the day went well.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 17, 2010 7:17 am

      Love u to mom:) I think I’m scarce coz when I’m stressed I tend to withdraw. But will try not to be:)

Leave a Reply

