Skip to content

Drummer Cake…

April 20, 2010

I have an even bigger obsession than my obsession with blogs. (*gasp* yes it’s true) Well, its actually more like a passion. I absolutely love, LOVE novelty cakes! They are so creative and beautiful and you can do just about anything. The obsession part comes in when I spend hours on flickr just browsing my life away looking at all the amazing cakes people have done. My boss, A,  doesn’t share the passion with me, she’s passionate about wedding cakes and excellent at making them. Don’t get me wrong, I love wedding cakes to, but there’s just something about novelty cakes that grabs me. Maybe it’s the fact that you can make one for just about any occasion?

Up until now we haven’t done novelty cakes at work and have ended up turning many clients away because of it. A wants to focus on what she’s passionate about, which is wise as you can’t spread yourself to thin or you’ll end up not being great at anything! But she’s seen my passion and she’s decided we can start doing them, and she’s put me in charge of them! Wow, I’ve only been working there about 8 months, and I’m still in the process of becoming a pastry chef, and I’ve got this huge opportunity to do what I love. I feel so blessed.

Besides this news being exciting, it’s also very scary. Since I love novelty cakes but I’ve never made them. And there isn’t anyone to teach me. So I just jumped into the deep end, and I swam!

G’s brother is a drummer and it was his birthday on Friday. I decided to take the opportunity to ‘jump into the deep end’ and make my first novelty cake. And I’m so proud of how it came out. More than 10 hours of work and a lot of blood, sweat and tears, but I came out the other end as a better baker, or novelty caker? I’m the kind of person who just cannot do something half half. I go all out, I can’t help it!

I loved doing this cake. I learned something important, it’s all in the details. It’s the small details of a cake that make you look twice and think ‘wow, I can’t believe they thought to make that?’

And although mine is still a way away from perfect, he was very happy with it and that’s why I love my job. You get to make somebody happy in a way not many people can. And I’ll tell you a secret… it’s not that difficult! One of my aims for the future of this blog is to put up some tutorials as I go along. I don’t just want to show what I can do, I want to show you how you can do it to, and that way we’ll be learning together.

I’ve already got another order for a 1st birthday cake for next weekend, so will post on that soon.

Have a great week!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 3:41 pm

    Awesome ROBS!!! for a first try thats amazing… I’ll send you some links on Facebook to a friend of mine’s cakes.

  2. April 20, 2010 4:44 pm

    Wow, its stunning. its even got the little dents in the symbol!
    and i love the ‘silluette’ of the fans hands.
    (yay M.O.C.!!!)

  3. April 20, 2010 6:56 pm

    This is BEYOND insane! well done robs…good start!

  4. Melissa Lombard permalink
    April 20, 2010 7:11 pm

    That cake is amazing – well done Robyn!!
    I’d love to know how you did those cymbals and what the base cake was, fruitcake, vanilla, chocolate…..actually the more details you can part with the better. Again, well done!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 20, 2010 7:57 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement everyone! Mel, It was a chocolate cake with chocolate ganache filling. Everything was made with fondant modelling paste except for the stands, I used skewers for that:) The cymbals are fondant, marked, and then painted over with gold food colour. Nix I’m glad you could see it was the fan’s hands, I wasn’t so sure it would come across! Thanks again:)

  5. April 20, 2010 8:31 pm

    Awesome job Robyn!! Well done, Im proud of you. I know how much work goes into a work of art like this :o) xx

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 20, 2010 9:52 pm

      Colleen, it is a lot of work! But so fun as well:) Starting out is so awesome as there’s just so much to learn and be creative with!

  6. Liz permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:05 pm

    it looks awesome my friend. I’m so proud of you. If this is only a first attempt then i’m sure there’s no stopping you in the future! Love you!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 20, 2010 9:55 pm

      Thanks my friend :), love you to!

  7. Sandi Potter permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:31 pm

    This cake was fantastic. I wish you were all there to hear the comments about it. The detail was great and of course the chocolate cake inside was out of this world. So moist and really tasty. Tastes like more.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 22, 2010 7:23 am

      Thanks for the lovely comment! It was so much fun making it:) So… who’s birthday’s next?

  8. whippingitup permalink
    April 22, 2010 7:54 pm

    That’s such wonderful news and what a special thing that you’re able to work your passion!

  9. Ryan permalink
    April 23, 2010 4:33 pm

    “Thanks Ryan for the Fan silluette idea, you’re the man!”………….. :P

  10. February 10, 2012 4:26 pm

    Just popped onto this page to show some colleagues the awesome cake you made for my birthday!

    Thanks again ;) It was such a surprise!

Leave a Reply

