Skip to content

Matthew’s 1st Birthday Cake…

April 26, 2010

Here it is! And what a relief… I don’t think I’ve ever stressed out so much over a cake before. It may look perfect here, but this is the product of hours of stress and tears and wanting to rip my hair out. As you can probably tell, it was a very humbling experience.

This cake was for a couple G and I are very close to. Their adorable little boy turned 1 this past weekend and I wanted to do something really special for them.

Making the figurines went really well. Those were done a week before. No stress there, just a cute overload. The day of assembly was where it all went pear shaped. I’m pretty new at this right? And this was kind of my first time doing a fondant covered cake solo… and I was moody.

So I sliced the cake, filled it, and put on a crumb coat. Everything still A OK. Then I rolled out the fondant… too thin. But I thought, “Eh, it’ll be ok.” Bad bad judgement call. The fondant wasn’t firm enough to hold the cake together and it began to bulge out at the sides. And the panic began. I didn’t have enough fondant to redo it and in my stressed out/close to tears/hair ripping state I couldn’t think clear enough to find a solution. Luckily my mom could. I had mentioned earlier that I wanted to put a ribbon around the base of the cake, so she suggested we go down to the shops to find a thicker ribbon and tie it round tightly to hold everything together. It worked! Phew!

Being the perfectionist that I am I still wasn’t happy though. Because I knew that it wasn’t perfect. And it took my mom, my dad and G to convince me to just step away from the cake.

Thankfully as the fondant dried over night it all held together and turned out looking beautiful despite all the drama.

And I learned something very important… try as hard as humanly possible not to take on something like this when you’re pmsing. It’s not pretty.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 1:46 pm

    looks lovely, even though it was much stress, it turned out awesome! Well done!

  2. Liz permalink
    April 28, 2010 12:12 am

    Robs the cake turned out amazing. I get the whole stressful situation, but it still looked awesome. I love the train and i’m glad you figured out a way to make the foot indentations, it looks adorable. Another job well done, not that i’m surprised. Keep up the good work! :)

  3. MOTHER permalink
    April 28, 2010 8:24 pm

    I can testify to the stress! I was there! But alls well that ends well and after some prayer and lots of persuasion it looked beautiful in the end. Love u Robs and keep going. Just like the little train that said ‘ I know I can! I know I can’ you can too!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 29, 2010 8:05 am

      Thanks mom:) And thanks for the prayer and persuasion. What a day!

  4. May 3, 2010 3:58 am

    The cake looks perfect and what a special cake for a 1st birthday.

  5. chocswirl permalink*
    May 3, 2010 8:35 am

    Thanks for the lovely comments Kristen, Liz and Lizanne! Can’t wait to do more cakes this this one, it was awesome to make!

  6. LARISSA permalink
    June 7, 2011 3:08 pm

    how did you make the train, my son is turning 1 in two weeks and i love your cake. i am thinking to do the same sort of thing. was the train complicated.

    • June 8, 2011 8:34 am

      Hi Larissa,

      That sounds lovely! It’s not difficult to make, will send you a mail :)

  7. February 29, 2012 8:24 pm

    How did you make footprint markings on a cake?

    • March 1, 2012 7:50 am

      Hi Natasha,

      I made a little ‘stamp’ or embosser out of gum paste. I made the base of the foot and the toes and stuck them onto the bottom of another piece of gum paste and let the whole thing dry. Then I just stamped the pattern down onto the cake:) Hope that helps!

      Robyn

Leave a Reply

