Skip to content

Daring Bakers: Chocolate Steamed Pudding…

April 27, 2010

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

Um…well… *sheepish grin* you see… I wasn’t very daring this month. Suet is just not my thing. I know this blog is not the poster blog for healthy eating, but something about suet just makes me a bit queasy. Maybe it is my ignorance about it that puts me off.  I’ve heard many conflicting opinions about it and so I’ve decided I’m staying out of it. Thankfully that wasn’t a compulsory part of this month’s challenge! Esther allowed us to use butter or another appropriate type of fat, as long as it was made in a traditionally British way.

I  searched around and found a recipe for a chocolate steamed pudding, using butter instead of suet. It seemed like the best option for me, and so I got to work. I was nervous at first but it turned out not to be too difficult. It just takes time and therefore patience. Not easy for me as I was convinced that it was going to flop and I would open up the pot after 1 1/2 hours to find a big gooey chocolaty mess. (although that sounds quite yummy too) But it did no such thing and out came a spongy, moist dome of chocolaty goodness.

What I love about The Daring Kitchen is that it ‘forces’ us to try cooking techniques that we would have otherwise stayed away from. So thank you Esther for a brilliant and versatile challenge! The Recipe can be found here.

Go check out the other Daring Bakers entries! They are amazing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 1:15 am

    Yum, chocolate! Very interesting, the suet debate. I was on my way to use butter because I couldn’t find suet during my late night supermarket dash, and there it was right next to the breadcrumbs I needed. Looked completely different than I imagined. Have some left over, so I’ll have to make some more steamed pudding soon.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:37 am

      Really? Next to the bread crumbs? I wasn’t sure I would’ve found it (if it hadn’t totally grossed me out.)

  2. April 28, 2010 8:29 am

    eww… i just googled suet…not something I would use if you paid me… But the pudding looks divine :)

    • chocswirl permalink*
      April 28, 2010 11:35 am

      My Point exactly! Eww….

  3. April 30, 2010 10:32 pm

    hi Robyn

    I must say I have seen recipe’s for pudds in BBC magazines , but never thought I could pull it off….you make it sound a little easier than I thought, and your chocolate pudd looks great!!

    I like this daring baker thing….sounds like fun!
    all the best!
    Dennis

    • chocswirl permalink*
      May 1, 2010 7:16 am

      Hey Dennis, it is lots of fun! Every month you get to wait in anticipation for the challenge to be revealed. When you see what it is you’re usually nervous, but its nervous excitement. And the it’s just a whole lot of fun trying to get it to work and expand your skills. And the choc pudding was easy, if you happen to be a patient person, which I’m not:)

  4. May 10, 2010 8:42 pm

    Robyn!! I’ve been such a bad blog commenter lately but your site is looking great and this chocolate pudding looks unbelievable. I’m a chocolate nut so it doesn’t take a lot to make me crave it in a big way :)

    Hope everything is going well with you! I owe you an email and we’ll catch up soon!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      May 11, 2010 8:35 am

      Hey Maris! I’m also not such a great commenter so I understand! Everything’s going well with me, hope the same with you! would love to catch up :)

Leave a Reply

