Skip to content

Cookie Dough Truffles…

May 19, 2010

I’m happy to know that its only 3 more sleeps until G comes back! Well, happy is an ok word… its more like I’m just about jumping out of my skin! I must admit though, it has been  nice to have time on my own. To be able to bake without time limitations because we’re going out to meet friends etc. To feel tired at 9 in the evening because I’m doing absolutely nothing but being a big fat slob on the couch. And to have tonnes of girl time with my best friend L and my little sis N. So there have been ups, but there have also been downs. Like hearing Owl City’s ‘Vanilla Twilight’ on the radio at some point everyday (without fail), and feeling my heart constrict in my chest. And feeling sad when I look down at my plate with a full stomach and realise I don’t have anyone to finish my food.

In a relationship you don’t realise it but you begin to take the little things for granted. It’s subtle, but you form this routine over the years that, when interrupted, you realise you miss incredibly and wouldn’t want to live without.

That’s why I must just say to that Icelandic Volcano… Just keep your pants on for 2 more days! Its really not that much to ask. You wouldn’t do that to me would you?

Ok, now that that’s out of the way lets get down to baking. Or more like, rolling and Coating.

When it comes to truffles, I often find the whole process of making them much more exciting than eating them. *gasp* I know, I know. Its just that they’re often so rich that I feel sick after eating just one! My stomach and I do not have the best relationship at the moment. These truffles however, are something entirely different. I found the recipe while browsing one of my new favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats. She has beautiful photos (which draws me) and amazing recipes and she seems to love ice cream as much as I do! There are tonnes of her recipes that I want to try but I thought I’d start with this one. Cookie Dough Truffles. Who wouldn’t want to start with this one?

Cookie dough is really yummy. Yet for me, eating it from the bowl when you’re making a batch of cookies always comes with a slight hint of guilt. I have no idea why, but it really is one of my guilty pleasures. I know that G loves any kind of dough or batter to. I’ve heard the stories of the little boy pulling up a stool to stand on and watch his mother bake, just so that at the exact right moment he might be there when the dough/batter is ready to bake and his mother turns her head for just a second to allow his little finger to swoop in and steal some. I’ve also experienced it myself, as he’ll walk back and forth between the freezer and the couch, stealing little bits of frozen cookie dough and making sure that the next time I want to bake cookies I might as well make another batch of dough.

So these truffles are perfect for us. Making cookie dough to eat it just the way it is, coated in chocolate. Who would have thought? All I have to do now is protect them until he gets back. Not such an easy job in this house!

You can find the recipe here. I’m going to talk you through the process of rolling and coating.

Once you’ve made the truffle mixture, chill it in the fridge until its firm enough to roll into balls without it sticking to your hands. The mixture is quite firm already so it doesn’t take too long, about half an hour. While its chilling, cover two baking sheets with greaseproof paper. When the mixture is firm enough, roll it into small balls, using your hands, and place them onto the greaseproof lined baking sheets. When you’re done rolling, place the sheets into the freezer to chill them quickly and to make sure they’re cold when you coat them.

Now get your utensils ready. You’ll need a small bowl for the melted chocolate, a fork and a small spatula (or butter knife).  Melt some chocolate in the bowl (in the microwave on 70% power for a minute at a time, stirring in between) and then take some of the truffle balls out of the freezer.

To coat, drop a ball into the melted chocolate and use the fork to move it around to ensure that the entire surface is coated. Then lift it out of the chocolate on the end of the fork and tap the fork gently on the side of the bowl to remove excess chocolate. Scrape the bottom of the fork clean with the flat end of the knife before transferring it to the baking sheet, using the knife to manoeuvre it so that it doesn’t fall over.

When all of them are coated, place them in the fridge before doing the final decoration. You can decorate them any way you like, using extra melted chocolate to stick things on or to make patterns.

If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    May 19, 2010 10:48 pm

    These looks awesome Robs!! I knew you wouldn’t be able to resist using your moulds that you bought on Sunday!! They look fantastic!

  2. May 21, 2010 12:58 pm

    this is really worth trying – I love making truffles and find that a pickle spoon works wonders. Your decorations are awesome, something I need to learn to do :)

    • chocswirl permalink*
      May 22, 2010 10:33 am

      Tandy, its really not that difficult! :) You could definately do it! I’ll post some tutorials in the future.

  3. June 3, 2010 12:23 pm

    Delicate and exquisite!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

Leave a Reply

