Skip to content

Princess Castle Cake…

June 9, 2010

A while ago a wonderful couple came into the shop to order a cake for their daughter’s first birthday. They knew what they wanted. It was to be a castle cake.

…Wow… I was a bit speechless at first, because as you may know, I’m really new to this. And well, a castle cake sounded like a really tough one. I did everything I could to persuade them otherwise. (while part of me was secretly longing for them not to listen to me) I mentioned that it would be expensive, I mentioned my lack of experience (I know! Who does that to themselves?) and I mentioned that, in the past, my bosses had not been partial to those kinds of cakes. (mostly because of all the man hours that go into something like that) But alas, (and yessss!) they were not having any of it. They told me that money wasn’t an issue, that they were sure I could convince A to let me do it, and that they didn’t care about my lack of experience, they were willing to take a chance on me.

I asked A and she said yes, and there it was, looming over me. I was going to have to do this now! And I managed it! And it was a great experience and learning curve. A was there to help when I needed her, though she mostly stood back and let me figure things out. I was so stressed out about getting it perfect that I actually had a super migraine that last night, but it went ok, and I was really happy with the result!

The Piping for the vines was done by A, as I’m still practicing my piping and I didn’t want to practice on this cake! :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 8:26 am

    Good job with you first castle cake! It’s super pretty :)

  2. Jerri permalink
    June 9, 2010 8:57 am

    ohhh WOW! :O That is beautiful.

  3. Liz permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:11 am

    omw robs this looks great! well done! It’s super pretty! :)

  4. Fraunty Aunces permalink
    June 9, 2010 8:28 pm

    Hey Robs…. I kwow who is going to be baking my wedding cake! Mmmmmmmm… I’m thinking….. What will it be???

    • chocswirl permalink*
      June 10, 2010 7:33 am

      :) anything you like!!!

  5. June 10, 2010 3:33 pm

    wow – not too bad – my niece would LOVE this cake :) You have amazing talent, Robs!

Leave a Reply

