Skip to content

Chocolate Pavlova with Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse…

June 27, 2010

It’s time for us bakers to be daring again. This month’s challenge was Chocolate Pavlova with a Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse and Mascarpone cream.

The June 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Dawn of Doable and Delicious. Dawn challenged the Daring Bakers’ to make Chocolate Pavlovas and Chocolate Mascarpone Mousse. The challenge recipe is based on a recipe from the book Chocolate Epiphany by Francois Payard.

The challenge was a strange one for me this month. I ended up liking the individual components way more on their own than together as a dessert. I’ve made pavlova before but never a chocolate one. The recipe was great. So chocolaty and rich. I will definitely be making it again.

I found however, that paired with the mousse it was too crunchy and the mousse was too soft and the two textures just didn’t sit right for me. On its own the mousse was amazing. It uses mascarpone and cream (no eggs!) which made it feel a little healthier without taking anything away from the taste. I didn’t want to eat the mousse with the pavlova and I didn’t have an occasion to serve the mousse at, so I just poured the mousse into mini bundt pan molds and put them into the freezer for future pleasure. And I do mean pleasure. Frozen chocolate mousse… I can’t think of anything better. In fact, I think I’m going to grab one right now and leave you to pop over to The Daring Kitchen for the recipe. It’s worth it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    June 27, 2010 2:20 pm

    Yummy, especially when frozen! You go, Girl!

  2. June 27, 2010 10:49 pm

    Looks fantastic, great job on the challenge.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      June 28, 2010 10:10 am

      Nice to meet you Jen! I was just over at your blog, beautiful photos and yummy food. :)

  3. July 2, 2010 12:30 pm

    Beautiful swirls! A great presentation of the challenge :-)

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

    • chocswirl permalink*
      July 6, 2010 1:19 pm

      thanks Kris! I had a tough time figuring out how to present this one, so that means a lot!

Leave a Reply

