Skip to content

Tartan birthday cake and my first (human) figurine…

July 29, 2010

I’ve been practicing. Wanna see what you missed while I was gone?

My big sister turned 25 this past weekend and I wanted to make her something special. Plus practicing on family is way less stressful than practicing on paying customers. You know family will love you no matter what you do. They love you even though you were born second and took all the attention away from them. They love you when you turn out to be one of the most moody teenagers on the planet. They love you when you go off to varsity and life becomes so busy that they don’t see you for days on end. And they’ll still love you when you make them look chubby sitting on top of their 25th birthday cake.

But paying customers wont. So practicing on family is the safer option.

I loved every part of making this cake. I loved testing out my creativity in painting the sides…

(There’s nothing tartan about my sister, although we do apparently descend from the Scots, I just love the pattern and she loves black, white, silver & green so it worked.)

I loved making the figurine…

(Even though I’ve still got far to go)

I loved making these cute little books…

(She happens to be a major bookworm)

And most of all I loved seeing her reaction…

Yep, that’s her…

Yeah, she’s wierd like that. But also awesome.

Love you Al! You better keep having Birthdays because I won’t stop making cakes.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 8:34 am

    I am in awe of your talent….wow!!! Awesome stuff!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      July 29, 2010 8:38 am

      Wow, thanks Nina! That means a lot! :)

  2. Fraunty Aunces permalink
    August 1, 2010 5:52 pm

    Awesome Robs. Ally…. Why start at the head? Slower from the feet up! I’m still deciding what my theme will be….. Will keep you informed……. Looking at this with your mommy….We’re sitting in the Slowveld!… Chatting, drinking tea and coffee and talking about the good old times in CT. Miss all my children… Does that not sound like a TV show in the making?

    • chocswirl permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:46 am

      :) Will be awesome to hear what you decide! I’m so jealous of you guys, wish I could be there! Miss my mothers:) Can’t wait to see you soon!

  3. August 3, 2010 9:06 am

    Awesome cake…. Now you can come practice on me anytime… I have yet to taste any of your bakes… starting to think you just let other people bake it ;) Looks lovely Robs!

  4. August 3, 2010 10:48 pm

    hey, I just randomly found your blog looking for plaid cakes or cupcakes – I’ve always wanted to make a plaid baked good because my school’s mascot is the Tartans (yes, as in, our mascot is a piece of plaid cloth. Carnegie Mellon is weird ahahah) and this looks awesome! Thanks for the idea, I’m definitely going to try this!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      August 3, 2010 11:26 pm

      That’s so awesome, glad I could pass on the idea! Tartan rocks. Hope it turns out great!

  5. November 24, 2011 5:08 pm

    So cool!

Leave a Reply

