Skip to content

Homemade Oreo Cookies…

August 3, 2010

I had an epiphany. Wanna know what it was?

I’m a Dunker. 100% Dunker. It’s not that I’ve never eaten Oreos before, they’ve been one of my favorite cookies since childhood. It’s just that, well, I was a cynic to the practice of Oreo dunking. I didn’t see the point of dunking a perfectly crunchy cookie into a glass of milk and turning the experience into a mess of soggy cookie and crummy milk.

Boy was I wrong. I am waving the white flag at Oreo Dunkers.  You were right all along.

Perhaps that is why Oreos were only one of my favorite cookies during childhood and not the favorite. Suffice it to say, that has changed.

These are awesome. Store bought Oreos are awesome too. I’m not knocking them. But these are beyond. I was surprised at how much they actually taste like Oreos. They were gone in a matter of two days which was probably best for my waistline, but not for my cravings.

The great thing is, they’re so easy to make and take less than 10 min to bake. So no excuses people. Do it.

Oreo Sandwich Cookies…

(Originally from Retro Desserts by Wayne Brachman and adapted by Deb from Smitten Kitchen & Jamie from My Baking Addiction… and me :))

Makes 25 to 30 sandwich cookies

For the cookie part:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cups sugar [see recipe note]
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) room-temperature, unsalted butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1-3 tbsp milk

For the filling:

  • 1/4 cup (50g) room-temperature, unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 2 cups sifted icing sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 190°C/375°F and line two baking sheets with non-stick parchment paper.

Place the dry ingredients for the cookie part into a food processor (or stand mixer).

Mix until thoroughly combined, then add the butter…

And the egg…

Now we’re talking…

This was where I had to adapt the recipe. I’m not sure why but my mixture was a little dry at this point. No worries. I just added a little extra milk until it formed into a ball and had a soft, doughy consistency. (not sticky!) Then it was time to roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface and cut out the rounds. (I used a 1 1/2 inch round cutter)

They go onto the prepared baking sheets and into the oven for about 9 minutes. If you bake them longer they’ll crisp up a bit more, but you also can’t tell when they’re burning as they’re already so dark in colour, so be careful.

In the meantime, make the filling. Place the butter and shortening into a mixer bowl and beat until smooth.

Turn the mixer down to low-speed and gradually beat in the sifted icing sugar and vanilla.

Beat on high-speed for 2-3 minutes until light and fluffy and you’re good to go.

Pipe some filling onto one half…

And squish them together. Then eat one. Right then. Go ahead. No one will know…

You can clean up the evidence before you fill the rest…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 11:24 pm

    The homemade oreos look divine :) I was just wondering about the filling, what do you use for shortening? A lot of American recipes call for shortening which usually just makes me skip the recipe all together!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      August 3, 2010 11:34 pm

      Hey Jess, The recipe said white vegetable shortening, so I used the white wooden spoon margerine that you find at pick n pay, it worked really well to keep the colour so white and tasted amazing! :)

  2. August 5, 2010 3:46 pm

    That icing looks fluffy, airy and most importantly, to die for.

  3. August 10, 2010 1:13 am

    yum! These look amazing!

    I love your blog!

  4. chocswirl permalink*
    August 10, 2010 7:30 am

    Just wanna say thanks for your comments guys! They really mean a lot!

  5. August 14, 2010 1:55 am

    I loved this recipe! Yours look great and thanks so much for the shout out!

  6. August 18, 2010 2:49 pm

    Ha – great minds think alike – I made Choc-kits this weekend! These look divine :)

    • chocswirl permalink*
      August 19, 2010 2:28 pm

      You made Choc-kits!? I love those! :) Gonna have to try them to now! :)

Leave a Reply

