Skip to content

How to make Peppermint Patties…

September 1, 2010

Don’t think I’ve forgotten the brownies I owe you. These are just the first step.

I fell in love with these little pockets of creamy mint enveloped in smooth, bitter chocolate at first sight. Can you really blame me?  I first came upon them while clicking through Ashley’s blog, Not Without Salt. I haven’t been able to get them off my mind since.

I do most of my home baking on a Monday as its my day off since we deliver wedding cakes on a Saturday. Yay me! I love it. No one’s home. The kitchen is all mine. Sometimes I have tonnes of recipes ready that have been bouncing around in my head from the week of waiting for Monday. Other times, nothing. Well… nothing that I feel like or am able to do seeing that my laziness takes over and I don’t feel like running to the shop for one absent ingredient. *sheepish grin*

On days like those I go to my list. Yes, I have a list. Well ok I have many lists, due to my sometimes obsessive compulsive need to be in control personality, but this list is special. It contains all the ideas and recipes I want to try out. I think I’ll share it with you sometime. For now, all you need to know is that Peppermint Patties were near the top. Duh.

And so I went to work. They can be a bit labour intensive to make, but don’t let that put you off. They’re worth it.

Peppermint Patties: (Adapted from Not Without Salt)

  • 2 1/2 cups icing sugar, divided (more may be needed)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons light corn syrup/glucose syrup
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure peppermint extract
  • 1 tablespoon white vegetable shortening
  • 280g dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
  •  

    Sift 2 1/4 cups icing sugar into a large bowl/mixer bowl.

    Add the syrup, water, salt, extract and shortening and beat until just combined.

    You are going to have to knead it on a work surface so check the consistency. Mine was still a little wet so I added about 1/2 cup more icing sugar. When you have a soft dough consistency, sprinkle the work surface with icing sugar…

    Knead the mixture, adding more icing sugar as needed, until smooth.

    Yes that is my hand. *cringe* Form a smooth disc…

    Place on a piece of parchment that has been dusted with icing sugar and dust the disc as well.

    Cover with another piece of parchment and roll out between the sheets to just under 1/4 inch (0.5 cm)

    Chill in the freezer on a baking sheet for about 15 min to firm up. Once firm, make sure both sides are sprinkled with icing sugar and cut out rounds to the size of your choice.

    Chill rounds in the freezer for about 30 min to make sure they’re extra firm when you coat them. 

    Melt the chocolate in a double boiler or in the microwave (1 min at a time on 70  percent power until melted) and dip the rounds. Place the dipped rounds onto a parchment lined sheet and chill once again until the chocolate is set.

    Then eat any ‘messed’ up ones and feel satisfied. Job well done.

    5 Comments leave one →
    1. September 1, 2010 4:35 pm

      I am such a sucker for mint!!! Am definitely making this SOON.

    2. September 2, 2010 3:52 am

      first… you better submit these photos to foodgawker! they are great!! I know how you feel about lists- I am the exact same way. These look unbelievable- I had never even thought about making peppermint patties. (These would be perfect at Christmas!)

    3. September 2, 2010 1:50 pm

      Being mom to her , the list making sometimes obssesive-compulsive personality, I hope that this causes some feelings of sympathy in the hearts of the readers of this blog. Love her dearly anyway. Not sure if I got any of these peppemint goodies, if I did then they definitely didn’t look like the perfection in the photo’s.

      • chocswirl permalink*
        September 2, 2010 2:48 pm

        Thats coz they went into the brownies! Which are up next. :) And I know you got some of those!

    Trackbacks

    1. Peppermint Patty Brownies… « Chocswirl

    Leave a Reply

