Skip to content

Peppermint Patty Brownies…

September 8, 2010

Told you I hadn’t forgotten. We’re just learning some patience around here. I know that’s hard when it comes to brownies.

Especially these ones.

Chocolate and mint are always a winning combo in my books. These are a good mix of fudgy and cakey which I love in a brownie. Then there’s the crack as you bite into it, hit the chocolate shell of the peppermint patty and go through into the minty creaminess of the filling. Yep, I know. Hard to resist.

I found the recipe years ago before the love of food exploded into my world and I’m so grateful to myself for keeping it. I find baked goods with multiple layers absolutely irresistable. I hope you can’t resist. The time for patience has passed. We all know we’ll never learn that lesson. Not with brownies around anyway.

Peppermint Patty Brownies: (inspired by and adapted from this recipe)

  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup castor sugar
  • 100g (1/2 cup) butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 1 batch of peppermint patties (or any mint-filled chocolates)
  • 100g dark chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F) and grease and line an 8-inch (20cm) square baking pan with non-stick greaseproof paper.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder and salt and set aside.

 Beat together the castor sugar and softened butter until light and fluffy.
Add 2 of the eggs and beat well.
Don’t forget to scrape down your bowl and beaters like I did. *hides face in shame*
Add the extracts and mix to combine.
Gradually beat in the dry ingredients.
Scoop out 3/4 cup of the batter and set it aside. Spread the remaining batter into the prepared baking pan.
 
Place the peppermint patties over the batter in a layer.
Beat the remaining egg and the 3/4 cup of batter you have set aside together until light in color.
Stir in the dark chocolate chunks and spread the mixture over the peppermint patty layer.

 

Bake for 30 – 35 min or until a tester inserted at the center comes out almost clean. (the melted chocolate inside will still be wet but the batter must be set)

Let it cool completely in the pan on a cooling rack. When cool, turn out onto the cooling rack.

Cut into squares. Serve at room temperature or chilled.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jules permalink
    September 8, 2010 2:05 pm

    I am drooling here, I love brownies…..mmmmmmm…. I sooo have to make this. Thank you soooo much. I love the way you break it down so that I can follow it step by step, and the Peppermint patties look AWESOME (imagine being sung in a high pitched voice) ha ha. Thank you again hun.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      September 9, 2010 8:07 am

      he he… that’s so funny! I also say AWESOME like that. thanks Jules!

  2. September 8, 2010 2:31 pm

    I’m with you Jules. That looks so indulgent and perfect for the mood I’m in!

  3. September 8, 2010 5:48 pm

    i am so glad you finally posted the second installment!

    these look amazing! Good work Robyn!

    I want to see some more beautiful cakes!!!

  4. September 9, 2010 8:03 am

    Yum! MORE PLSE says my stomach but my jeans are objecting somewhat!

  5. September 13, 2010 2:30 pm

    Sometimes I really, really wish I was a chocolate fan – those looks so delicious! But I’m not. Poo.

  6. September 24, 2010 8:45 pm

    How decadent these brownies must be, yummy!

  7. October 11, 2010 8:02 pm

    hope all is well! wishing you would post a pretty cake for me to “ohhh and awwww” over!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      October 13, 2010 11:27 pm

      Hey Claire, things aren’t so great over here right now. I’m working on it. Thanks for the motivating kick in the butt :) I think your comment was just what I needed! Hope you’re well!

  8. December 13, 2010 6:51 pm

    i hope you will submit this for our merry monday!!

    http://clearlyclaireblog.blogspot.com/2010/12/merry-monday-mint.html

  9. December 13, 2010 9:05 pm

    Delicious!!!
    Great and easy recipe!
    Must try!

  10. December 13, 2010 11:38 pm

    These are such a wonderful idea. I always have to send the boy to work with brownies so these would be a great holiday change up! I am your newest follower.

    xo

  11. December 14, 2010 7:42 am

    I love the combination of chocolate and mint too….peppermint patties are one of my favorite candies!

Leave a Reply

