Skip to content

Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuts (Gluten Free)…

October 27, 2010

We’re going to have to hold off on the cheesecake for just a little while. There’s something more important to discuss. Doughnuts.

I’m sure some of you are thinking, “well, I’m not to sure if doughnuts are more important than cheesecake…” but today they are. It’s the Daring Bakers challenge for the month. I love LOVE Daring Bakers. What’s more awesome than hundreds of people from different countries, continents, backgrounds and ages coming together every month to focus on the one thing we all have in common? Nothing? Thought so.

Through blogging I’ve come to realize that we’re all just people. No matter where we are in the world we go through many of the same struggles and the same joys. And we all love baking.

Often at home I will get all excited about a recipe and attempt to share the excitement with a family member. Sometimes it works, if it’s my dad. But other times after a while I get the glazed over look. (he he… excuse the pun) Which is fine. Everyone’s different.

But here there are no glazed over looks. Awesome. Love you guys.

Ok. Enough soppiness. On to doughnuts.

The October 2010 Daring Bakers challenge was hosted by Lori of Butter Me Up. Lori chose to challenge DBers to make doughnuts. She used several sources for her recipes including Alton Brown, Nancy Silverton, Kate Neumann and Epicurious.

We were given a lot of choice in this challenge as to what kind of doughnuts we wanted to make. Yeast, cake, baked, fried, filled, unfilled. So many possibilities. But you know me. The first time I make something I like to go with basic. Get the right texture and taste before I start adding things in and changing it up.

I went back and forth a bit about baked or fried. Baked is healthier. But fried is…well… fried. So I decided to go with my gut. If you’re going to eat something filled with carbs you might as well add fat into the mix. Just don’t eat the whole batch.

Since it’s my first Daring Bakers challenge gluten free, so can’t use the challenge recipe, I decided to go with the experts here instead of attempting to adapt a recipe to gluten free myself. I’ve had a few flops recently so the confidence has taken a bit of a knock. But I’m learning. I went with gluten free cake doughnuts from Lorna Yee’s “The Newlywed Kitchen” cookbook via Helene at Tartelette, and gluten free yeast raised doughnuts from Lara Ferroni’s “Doughnuts” cookbook via Aran at Cannelle et Vanille.

Because I had a tooth extracted yesterday and I’m feeling horrible (yes I am a big baby) I’ll let you check out their beautiful sites for the recipes. Just click on the links above.

And if you’re a food blogger, join the Daring Kitchen for goodness sake! It’s awesome.

Nom.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 10:44 am

    Ok, why!!! WHYY!!!! Why did you have to post this now? I am DYINNGGG!!! I love cinnamon sugar..and I would give up my head for a doughnut..so this is just torture!

  2. November 1, 2010 1:43 am

    THESE LOOK AMAZING!

    I am making these ASAP!

  3. November 24, 2010 4:03 pm

    Looks like your gluten free experiments paid off – these look like the perfect dougnut – crispy & sugary, what more could you want?

Leave a Reply

