Skip to content

Raspberry & Rosé Sorbet…

February 10, 2011

This heat is insane. I’m a winter girl through and through. Don’t get me wrong, I love summer evenings. Chilling in the pool with a glass of lemonade after a stressful day is something I’m not quite ready to give up. But the heat of the day definitely is. And it’s humid. In Cape Town. Agh! I woke up this morning having flung my blankets across the room and with my fan on full blast I was still sweating. At 7 in the morning! *sigh*At least in winter you can find a way to get warm. There are only so many items of clothing you can take off before it starts getting wierd.

I suppose there are ups and downs to whatever season you’re in, summer just has more downs for me. There is one big up though…

Yep. I know. Huge up. Ice-cream is way up there on my lists of favourites. Although I eat it even in the depths of winter, there’s nothing like the way it satisfies you in the heat of summer. The intense flavour of a good sorbet can be extremely refreshing. The only down side? It’s not that easy to photograph in this heat. If you’ve got a relatively cool place to do it that’s great. Otherwise you’re relegated to running back and forth from the freezer, the ice-cream nearly melting and your photo shoot taking double as long. But its all about learning.

If you love ice-cream then The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz is a book you must buy. I mean it.

There are many recipes I want to try but I decided to start with this one. I’m a huge berry fan. I wait all year just to revel in the 2 or 3 months that is berry season. Sorbets are amazingly easy to make, even without an ice-cream maker. I own one but find myself not using it much even though I do make ice-cream often. I find the freezer bowl doesn’t always work well in the immense heat as it melts in about 20 minutes. But I’ve had great results doing it by hand. As was the case with this sorbet. I wish I hadn’t already eaten all of it.

Raspberry-Rosé Sorbet:

(Adapted from The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz)

  • 2 cups/500ml rosé wine
  • 2/3 cup/130g white sugar
  • 3 cups/340g raspberries, fresh or frozen

Heat the rosé and sugar in a saucepan until it comes to the boil.

Add the raspberries and let it cool to room temperature.

Purée the mixture in a blender or food processor and then pass through a strainer to remove the seeds.

Pour the mixture into a bowl/container and chill in the fridge until completely chilled. I usually make the mixture the day before if I’m going to use my ice-cream maker so that it has ample time to chill before churning. This ensures that it will freeze properly as it churns. If I’m doing it by hand I just chill it until cold and then stick it in the freezer.

Whisk/beat with a electric hand beater after 1 hour, then every 30 minutes there after until the mixture is thick and smooth. This breaks up the ice crystals that form as it freezes and will result in a smooth texture in your final product.

Because of the alcohol content the sorbet may take a little longer to freeze than other sorbets but the resulting texture is great.

If it becomes very hard in your freezer, let it stand out for 5-10 minutes before scooping and serving.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 10:54 am

    mmm sorbet.

    The best part is that it’s naturally gluten free!

  2. February 23, 2011 6:02 pm

    Fantastic! And I hear you on photographing ice-cream in this heat – I had the same experience a few weeks ago. It was quite hilarious.

  3. March 7, 2011 10:20 am

    Yummy, really good for a hot summer day. Better do this before Autumn kicks in NZ

  4. June 21, 2011 2:34 am

    Just gorgeous. I love the idea of using rose. Great pictures.

  5. June 21, 2011 2:37 am

    Lovely photos! I just got David’s book, so many recipes to choose from :)

    • June 22, 2011 7:59 am

      I know! I want to work my way through them, they all look amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. Delicious Links! 06.20.11 « Chef Pandita
  2. Delicious Links! 06.20.11

Leave a Reply

