Skip to content

Vietnamese Coffee Ice-Cream & Milkshakes…

March 17, 2011

Vietnamese Coffee Milkshakes

We’re nearly at the end of March. One month into Autumn here in the Southern Hemisphere and it seems Summer didn’t get the memo. It’s still blazing on like its nobody’s business.

I am anticipating Winter like a kid anticipates Christmas morning. I’m that serious about Winter. For me, Winter’s all about warmth. I know, sounds weird. But think about it…

Big poofy blankets. Steaming mugs of hot cocoa. Hot puddings freshly baked from the oven. Big bowls of delicious soup. Need I say more?

Summer’s heat is an in your face, take no prisoners kind of heat. Winter’s warmth on the other hand, warms your soul.

I think I’ve mentioned it before, but ice cream is an all year deal for me. It is my absolute favorite food. I could not give up ice cream over the Winter months if you paid me. I’m one of those who actually craves and enjoys ice cream more during Winter.

I’ve been working my way through David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop. To say that he is an ice cream genius is an understatement. His recipes are spot on every time with amazing flavour combinations and ideas on variations. I’ve had the book for a few months now and I still get excited every time I open it. He is truly inspiring. You should check him out. Go, I’ll wait here.

Back? Ok. Now we can move on to the recipe…

I loved the sound of the flavours in this ice cream as I am, as I guess many are, a huge fan of condensed milk. Mix it with coffee and you’ve got me eating right out of your hand.

The flavours were spot on. It was so hot in my kitchen that my ice cream machine didn’t want to play along and so I made this one by hand. Due to that it was ever so slightly icier than I anticipated. G and I decided that vietnamese coffee milkshakes were the way to go and problem solved.

They were smooth and creamy with an intense coffee flavour. Perfect.

Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream:

(Adapted from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop)

  • 1 1/2 cups (240 g) sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 ml) brewed espresso (or very strongly brewed coffee)
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) cream
  • Big pinch of finely ground dark roast coffee

Place the condensed milk, espresso and cream in a bowl and whisk together until combined.

Add the ground coffee and whisk in.

Chill the mixture thoroughly, then freeze in your ice-cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Note: When using an ice cream maker it is best to chill the mixture for at least 12 hours. If you’re mixing it by hand, chill until extremely cold and place in a freezer proof container and into the freezer. Take out after 45 minutes and beat with a whisk or electric beater until smooth, to break up the ice crystals. Freeze again. After another 30 minutes, beat again. Continue this way, beating every 30 minutes, until it becomes uniformly thick. Cover the container and freeze.

Take out 10 minutes before serving to allow the ice cream to soften to scoopable consistency.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 9:49 am

    I am in love. I’ve been lusting after milkshakes for the past few days and now I know it was all just in preparation for this.

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 18, 2011 11:21 pm

      :) fate rules. I’m sure they won’t disappoint! Let me know what you think!

  2. March 18, 2011 11:10 am

    I am so with you on the winter thing, love winter! I could however have this ice cold delight in the middle of winter. Lovely pictures!!!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 18, 2011 11:22 pm

      Thanks Nina! :) This heat is too much for me. I would rather drink this in the middle of winter than right now!

  3. March 19, 2011 7:46 am

    I’m a icecream addict too! Seriously I could eat it when it’s frozen outside!

    • chocswirl permalink*
      March 19, 2011 7:07 pm

      I would prefer it that way :)

  4. March 25, 2011 12:33 am

    My favorite food group is ice cream!

Leave a Reply

