Skip to content

Croissants for Daring Bakers…

September 27, 2011

*sigh* Disappointment reigns.

The Daring Bakers go retro this month! Thanks to one of our very talented non-blogging members, Sarah, the Daring Bakers were challenged to make Croissants using a recipe from the Queen of French Cooking, none other than Julia Child!

I’m kind of a dumbass. You see, the day that I found out what the Daring Bakers challenge for the month was, I was in fact, making croissants! Weird I know. It was a great and easy recipe that took me the morning to put together. It turned out wonderfully. Golden brown and crisp on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. Perfect. Since I knew I’d be making them again with the challenge recipe I didn’t stop to take photos. Why would I need to? Hmmm… first mistake.

I’m not quite sure what the rest of my mistakes were, but as you can see in the pic above, the second batch did not turn out perfectly crisp, light and fluffy croissants. And I spent the best part of two days working on those. I’m not sure where I went wrong, any ideas?

On the bright side, I know I can do it, even though I can’t prove it. :)

When I bounce back from this disaster (excuse the melodrama) I’ll attempt to find the time to share the other recipe with you. In the meantime, Go check out the Daring Kitchen for the recipe and some successful attempts at Croissants!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 5:48 am

    Did you use the recipe before the typo for the amount of flour was changed? Not sure what could have gone wrong, but they do look good. Sorry about your disaster of an experience. Nice job on completing the challenge anyway!

    • September 28, 2011 8:18 am

      Hi Kim, I used it after it was changed so… ? :) Who knows? Will def try again soon though.

  2. September 28, 2011 8:37 am

    They certainly look better than anything I could’ve made! So far any attempt of a gluten free baked good remotely related to puff pastry has gone wrong wrong wrong…. I can’t keep the butter from bleeding through the layers (I think this may be an issue with my flour choices). To me, your failed attempt looks like a valiant effort, and I can’t wait to see the recipe!

    • September 28, 2011 10:28 pm

      Aw Jenn, unfortunately I can’t say I was brave enough to go gluten free on this one! Not yet anyway :) I have the same problems as you with the puff pastry thing so I’ve put it on the back burner for now until I build up some courage :)

  3. October 6, 2011 11:57 am

    I have heard before that making croissants is quite difficult!! Your look great to me!

Leave a Reply

