Skip to content

Rolo-Stuffed Brown Sugar Cookies…

November 20, 2011

Today’s post will be short and sweet due to the chaos that rules my life at the moment.

What chaos you ask? Two words. Wedding Season.

Although I’m loving the thrill of it, I will unfortunately have to neglect you for a while. I know, it’s the worst timing. Christmas is just around the corner and summer is upon those of us in the Southern Hemisphere. But just know I haven’t forgotten about you.

I will try my best in between all the cakes and gardening (more on that to come) and christmas gift making and spending time with G. Look at me, I sound like a housewife. Only I don’t have my own house, I’m not a wife (yet) and I work 5 (sometimes 6) days a week. How do all of you get everything done!?

Anyway, something I did manage to get done was to bake these cookies. I always itch to make cookies around Christmas time. The brown sugar cookie base makes one of the tastiest cookies I have ever tasted and the gooey Rolo center just takes it to another level.

Rolo-Stuffed Brown Sugar Cookies:        (Adapted from Epicurious via Joy the Baker)

(Makes about 2 ½ dozen cookies)

  • 280 g / 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 170 g / 1 ½ sticks butter, softened
  • 250 g / 1 ¼ cups dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 30 Rolo candies, frozen for at least 12 hours

Pre-heat the oven to 180°C / 350°F and line 2 -3 baking sheets with greaseproof paper.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.

Place the softened butter and brown sugar into the bowl of your stand mixer (or any other mixing bowl if using a hand-beater) and cream with the paddle attachment until fluffy and very light in colour.

Gently mix in the vanilla extract and the egg.

Add the sifted dry ingredients to the bowl all at once and mix in until just combined and comes together into a soft dough.

Turn out the dough onto your work surface and form into a flattened disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for 30 minutes.

When the 30 minutes is up, remove the dough from the fridge and the Rolo’s from the freezer. For each cookie, take a small amount of dough (1 tbsp. is a good amount) and form it into a ball. Press a frozen Rolo into the center and close up the dough around the Rolo so that it is completely covered.

Place them onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving 3 – 4 cm between them in all directions and bake for 10 – 12 minutes. (These cookies are great chewy but if you like them more crispy then leave them in a few minutes longer.)

Remove from the oven and leave them to stand for about 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 6:08 pm

    These cookies are looking devine – I will definitely add them to my cookies that I will bake for Christmas!! Enjoy all the wedding cakes and post some pics of some of them!!

  2. November 21, 2011 10:23 am

    like a jack in the box! it looks o-so-normal on the surface. Take a bite and you’d be wow’ed.

  3. November 21, 2011 7:54 pm

    YUM, I lovvvee Rolos! These sound amazing! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

