Skip to content

Chocolate Panna Cotta…

January 18, 2010

Sadly it’s gonna be a short post today. Busy baking for this month’s daring bakers! (you’ll have to come back to find out what it is!) And the temperatures in Cape Town, South Africa over the past week or two have been killer! (some days up to over 38°C/100°F!) So My brain is not working today, plus I have a bad case of the flu:( and being sick in this heat is terrible!

Ok enough whining… This chocolate panna cotta recipe is AMAZING! But then again most of Donna Hay’s recipes are! It’s from her book dedicated to chocolate. When I first looked at the recipe and the pictures of it I wasn’t so sure if it would come out with the richness I was looking for, but I was pleasantly surprised! It is rich and chocolaty and smooth… *sigh* chocolate heaven! And so easy to make.

Chocolate Panna Cotta… (Originally by Donna Hay) (Serves 4)

  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 2 tsp gelatine powder
  • 2 cups (single/pouring) cream
  • 1/3 cup (50g) icing sugar, sifted
  • 100g dark chocolate, chopped
  • vegetable oil, for greasing
  • mixed berries, to serve

Place the water in a bowl, add the gelatine and let stand for 5 min or so until the gelatine absorbs the water. Place the cream, sugar and chocolate in a sauce pan over medium heat and stir to melt the chocolate, allowing the cream to just come to the boil. Add the gelatine and stir for 1-2 min to dissolve it.

Strain the mixture and pour it into 4 x 1/2 cup capacity ramekins, that have been lightly greased with the oil.

Refrigerate for 4-6 hrs or overnight, until firm. Remove them from the fridge 5 min before serving, then unmould and serve with mixed berries.

Back to baking!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Liz permalink
    January 21, 2010 3:04 pm

    i would just like to mention that the arrangement of the fruit is fantastic. Whoever did that is a true artistic genius! :P

    • chocswirl permalink*
      January 27, 2010 9:32 am

      he he… I wonder who that was?

  2. Jayne permalink
    September 20, 2010 8:08 am

    I’m wondering… can I make this in a deep glass dish and then scoop portions in bowls to serve? I haven’t got ramekins and will be having 20 guests. Thanks :-)

    • September 20, 2010 8:51 am

      Hi Jayne! It will still be awesome if you make it in a deep dish and scoop out, 20 guests is a lot! I don’t even have enough ramekins for that many people and it would be so time consuming. So great idea! :)

      • Jayne permalink
        September 20, 2010 9:14 am

        Oh thanks for your speedy reply :-) I suspect I’m going to eat 1/2 of this all on my own and have to make another batch for my guests. haha…. Cook’s treat! Love your site. Keep it up!

  3. Ella permalink
    June 29, 2011 4:28 am

    I always cook by Donna Hay’s recipes and noted my latest book of hers doesnt have a chocolate version of her Panna Cotta, so I googled and came across yours. Pretty sure its only supposed to be 2 TEA spoons of gelatine as I made it by your recipe (above) and it was like eating an eraser!!! Checked Donna’s recipe and its only 2 teaspoons.

    Apart from the texture, it was a nice flavour, but inedible due to the rubbery-ness! Will try again with the correct gelatine amount!

    • June 29, 2011 8:29 am

      Hi Ella, oops! Sorry for the typo! Thanks for letting me know as I had no idea I’d written it wrong. I’ve updated the recipe :) Hope the next one is great!

  4. Felicia Folino permalink
    December 10, 2012 12:00 pm

    I havent really used gelaltine much with my cooking, but the one time i did use it, it didnt disolve! Is there any tips you could give me with this, please ??

    • December 11, 2012 8:28 am

      Hi Felicia, Two tips I can give you are to make sure you allow it to stand for enough time once you’ve added the water for it to absorb enough water (5 min should do it), and then you can also microwave it to melt it before adding it to the mixture, 5 – 10 sec at a time, do not let it boil though! :)

  5. Liebelle permalink
    October 7, 2013 5:42 pm

    DELISH! A keeper for sure. Thanks!

Leave a comment