Skip to content

Lemon Drop Candy…

September 7, 2011

I can say without a doubt that this is the yummiest post so far.

I know, typically chocolate’s always a winner right? But these are just little drops of tart, lemony awesomeness.

It’s like a flavour explosion in your mouth and (if you’re good at the whole self-control thing) you can eat just one little bite and be completely content.

My absolute favourite so far.

These are a little nerve wracking to make though, at first. Quite high on the difficulty scale due to the fact that it entails working with a sugar syrup, taking it to the right temperature and then handling the hot sugar mixture with your hands (don’t worry, there are steps in between).

My advice is just to prep well. Read over the recipe a few times so you’re sure of the steps, have everything you need (weighed out) in front of you before you start, and just stay calm and enjoy the process. Sugar work doesn’t have to be scary if you have a sugar thermometer and a good head on your shoulders.

Oh, and leave the clumsy somewhere else before you come into the kitchen. You don’t want to be stumbling around hot sugar.

Lemon Drops: (Adapted from Field Guide to Candy by Anita Chu)

(Makes about 50 pieces)

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tsp. citric acid
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon essence
  • a few drops of yellow food colouring
  • icing/confectioner’s sugar for rolling

Coat a pair of kitchen scissors and a marble slab with cooking spray (if you don’t have a marble slab I’m sure you could use a non-stick baking sheet coated with cooking spray but I haven’t tested that out).

Combine the sugar, cream of tartar and 1/2 cup water in a small saucepan and bring to the boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar. When the sugar has dissolved, stop stirring and allow the mixture to cook until it reaches hard crack stage/149°C/300°F.

Once at the correct temperature, remove from the heat and immediately pour the mixture out onto the marble slab.

Working fast, sprinkle the citric acid, lemon essence and food colouring over the mixture and use a bench scraper/palate knife to mix them in by turning the mixture over on itself continuously.

When evenly distributed and just cool enough to handle (but still hot and soft), pull off pieces and roll them into ropes. Cut the ropes up immediately with the greased kitchen scissors into small pieces.

Once all the mixture has been used up, roll the drops in icing/confectioner’s sugar to coat them. This stops them from sticking together.

*These will keep in an airtight container for up to 3 months*

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2011 5:13 pm

    those look divine! love me some lemon! but I will refrain from trying to make candy for a while… will place my order with you ;)

    • September 8, 2011 11:37 pm

      Thanks Liz, hmmm… wish I had time to make candy all day! :)

      • September 8, 2011 11:38 pm

        I’ll slip you some next time I make them! ;)

  2. mom permalink
    September 8, 2011 5:52 pm

    WHERE DID ALL THE LEMON DROPS GO! So yummy they just flew out of the kitchen. More Please!

    • September 8, 2011 11:37 pm

      He he… they flew out of the black hole that is our kitchen and into a safe stash in my room :) The men just polish everything off!

  3. September 8, 2011 9:04 pm

    I saw this originally on the ‘test and tell’ blog and have wanted to try these ever since but hadnt gathered the courage! Until now that is, knowing you too have had success with the recipe reassures me and i truly cant wait to try making these now :) beautiful!

    • September 8, 2011 11:35 pm

      Thanks Sasha! :) I’m glad to have inspired courage. Let me know how it goes!

  4. September 9, 2011 8:21 am

    Yep, I’m making these ASAP. :)

  5. September 9, 2011 9:57 am

    *sends empty jar over* I might just have to give this a try :)

  6. September 17, 2011 8:16 am

    cool, what would you say to using lemon juice instead of essence?

    • September 17, 2011 10:18 am

      I thought about that myself as I would prefer to go more natural with it! But I wanted to try the recipe as it was first. I think the essence would definately give a stronger lemon flavour as its so concentrated, but I’m sure there’s a way to do it with lemon juice. I’m just going to have to explore a little more! :) I’ll post an update when I figure it out

  7. Sharon permalink
    March 24, 2012 3:23 pm

    This is awesome! I am opening a shop in a months time that goes by the same name… I thought it would be cool to give customers a little bag of lemon gumdrops as a gesture of thanks when they buy something. I have been searching for a good recipe all over the web and its been in my own backyard the whole time! Thanks for a really fun & informative blog!

  8. Kaylynn permalink
    March 31, 2012 4:36 am

    Where do you find lemon essence? Is it different than lemon extract? By the way, this looks delicious :)

    • March 31, 2012 9:51 am

      Hi Kaylynn, lemon extract is basically the same with regards to this recipe! :) Extracts sometimes have more intense flavor than essences, but in this amount they’re interchangeable.

Trackbacks

  1. Nice Lemon Candy photos

Leave a comment